- Practice Areas
- Request Our Book
Workers’ compensation benefits are capped at a certain amount, which varies from state to state. In Georgia, the law aims to help you get back to work as quickly as possible while compensating you for some of your losses. The guidelines below may give you a better idea of how much money you’re entitled to receive in workers’ compensation benefits, but it is best to speak with an attorney who can evaluate your specific case and advise you on the specific benefits you may be eligible to receive.
If you are unable to work for more than seven days due to your injuries, you are entitled to temporary total disability benefits. With these benefits, you are eligible to receive two-thirds of your wages prior to your injury, up to a maximum of $575 per week. The caps are updated regularly and can be found here. Once you receive maximum medical improvement, or 400 weeks have passed, you will no longer be eligible to receive these benefits.
If you are still able to work after your injury, but you are earning less now than what you were earning before, you are entitled to temporary partial disability benefits. With these benefits, you are eligible to receive two-thirds of the difference between your current wages and your wages prior to your accident. Like temporary total disability benefits, your temporary partial disability benefits have a weekly cap as well. The maximum amount you are eligible to receive per week for temporary partial disability is $383. Once you receive maximum medical improvement, or 350 weeks have passed, you will no longer be eligible to receive these benefits.
If you are found to be permanently disabled after all treatment is completed, you will be eligible for permanent total disability benefits, which entitle you to weekly payments at the temporary total disability rate for the rest of your life. Permanent total disabilities are quite rare and require a serious injury, such as the loss of both limbs.
Under Georgia Workers’ Compensation laws, each body part has a monetary value assigned to it. If you are found to have permanently lost the use of a body part, or a percentage of that body part, you will be eligible to receive the amount listed on the schedule for that body part. If the part of your body that is permanently disabled is not listed on the schedule, you will be entitled to receive up to 300 weeks of payment at the temporary total disability rate.
In addition to the above four categories, you are also eligible to receive medical benefits, mileage reimbursement, and costs for vocational training. If you ultimately pass away due to your injuries, your family members may be entitled to death benefits and funeral expenses. As you can see, the process of calculating how much money you can receive in workers’ compensation benefits can be quite complex. As such, it is best to consult with an attorney, who can analyze your specific case and provide you with a better idea of how much you are eligible to receive in your particular case. Call us at (404) 259-7635 or visit our website today to schedule your free consultation.
“I am thankful for all Chris Simon and his team have done for my daughter and I would recommend him to anyone who has been injured or lost a loved one due to an accident.”